8 workshops to build the transition!

Led by specialists, boosted by our guests, these 1-hour sessions allow us to go from thought mode to action mode and to go further, in collaborative mode.

Workshop

#01

Regulatory aspects along the entire value chain

The evolution of regulations is essential for developing hydrogen. The latter must, for example, be included in the mix of renewable energies, with quantified commitments towards carbon-free production and a certificate of origin.

 

This is the case in France, in the industrial sector, with a 10% share in 2023 and between 20% and 40% in 2028. At both local and European levels, regulations must be adapted to facilitate the installation of hydrogen refuelling infrastructure, in compliance with safety standards.

 

Transport and storage are also impacted by regulations, which may eventually authorise hydrogen being injected into existing gas grids in mixture form.

Workshop

#02

Stationary applications

Heating with hydrogen is an idea that the industry is warming up to. Some industrial groups are beginning to produce H2 boilers, with a hydrogen fuel cell that produces heat from natural gas or green hydrogen obtained from renewable energy sources (wind and solar).

 

One such project has been set up in Belfort. More globally speaking, hydrogen can play a role in energy storage. As a back-up generator, or to provide electricity to off-the-grid areas, this vector is likely to develop in key sectors such as IT for example.

Workshop

#03

Technologies for using hydrogen

Hydrogen must be transformed for its use: into electricity, heat, mechanical energy. The key element is the fuel cell, which produces electricity, heat, and water vapor from hydrogen.

Other technologies are currently experiencing promising developments, including hydrogen combustion engines.

Fuel cells are integrated into a “system”: the role of auxiliaries is fundamental, such as the air loop, cooling, the hydrogen loop, power electronics, etc.

A race is underway to meet the needs especially in the field of heavy mobility, where high power batteries are required to propel trucks, trains, and boats, while waiting to be able to board planes

Workshop

#04

Hydrogen for Industry

Hydrogen, yes…but green! It’s mostly grey and sometimes blue, but green is the way forward for developing hydrogen.

 

To do so, it must be produced from carbon-free electricity, with the help of an electrolyser. This type of device is gaining performance with projects on a scale of several tens of MW. The market is set for intense growth, with a number of projects aimed at decarbonising ports.

 

For its part, Europe wants to impose green hydrogen in energy-intensive sectors such as the chemical and cement industries. The 2×40 GW initiative, in collaboration with Ukraine and the Maghreb, could also offer high leverage.

Workshop

#05

Waterways applications

In the heavy mobility category, ships will also increasingly integrate hydrogen. Since there are projects for reducing the carbon footprint of ocean liners, and for ensuring zero-emission navigation in the fjords of Norway, or in submarine mode, the river sector should be one of the first fields of application.

 

As an alternative to diesel, hydrogen fuel cells could be integrated into shuttle boats or barges for transporting goods. Boats like these already exist in France. Another application is shore power, where the fuel cell can provide electric current.

 

Projects are popping up all over Europe, both fluvial and maritime.

Workshop

#06

Production and storage technologies

Carbon-free hydrogen can be produced by electrolysis of water with electricity, but also by many other processes such as pyrogasification, thermolysis. The latter process can use lignocellulosic raw materials, such as wood chips, a natural and renewable product. The specific conditions for each project define the most relevant solution.

 

Once produced, the hydrogen must be stored. This is where industrialists who develop reservoirs come in. One of the champions is the French automotive supplier Faurecia, which is starting to assemble, for example, products for Hyundai trucks in Switzerland. Storage can also be done in underground cavities, in gas networks.

Workshop

#07

The jobs of tomorrow

We need to prepare now for future hydrogen-related jobs.

 

This is already happening in Belfort, where a specialised Master’s degree is offered to engineers. However, it is also necessary to help technicians in the transport sector (buses, lorries and soon cars) to adapt, since they will be required to carry out maintenance (on vehicles and stations).

 

This workshop will review the needs to be met and the profiles of new jobs created.

Workshop

#08

Aeronautics

At a time when the first stations are being installed in airports in France (and soon in the Netherlands), initially to supply buses and land vehicles, the aeronautics sector is planning its conversion to hydrogen.

First anticipated for the production of electricity onboard planes, hydrogen has also been since the Covid crises and the aeronautical recovery plan, at the heart of discussions for propulsion applications.

This revolution concerns both small passenger aircrafts and airliners. Airbus, for example, is preparing a hydrogen plane by 2035.

In addition to hydrogen production and fuel cell capacity issues, testing and regulation are also at the heart of the issues.

8 ateliers pour construire !

Animés par des spécialistes, boostés par nos guests , ces échanges d’une heure permettent de passer du mode « pensée » au mode « action » et d’aller plus loin, en mode collaboratif.

Atelier

#01

Les aspects réglementaires sur l’ensemble de la chaîne de valeur

L’évolution de la réglementation est indispensable pour assurer le développement de l’hydrogène. Cela passe par exemple par sa prise en compte au sein du mix d’énergies renouvelables, avec des engagements chiffrés pour une production décarbonée et un certificat d’origine.

 

C’est le cas en France dans un secteur comme l’industrie, avec une part de 10 % en 2023 et entre 20 et 40 % en 2028. Localement, mais aussi au niveau européen, les textes doivent être adaptés pour faciliter l’installation d’une infrastructure de remplissage, tout en respectant des normes de sécurité.

 

Le transport et le stockage sont aussi impactés par la réglementation, qui pourra autoriser à terme l’injection d’hydrogène dans les réseaux de gaz existants sous forme d’un mélange.

Atelier en anglais

Atelier

#02

Les applications stationnaires

Se chauffer à l’hydrogène est une idée qui fait son chemin. Il existe des groupes industriels qui se lancent dans la chaudière H2, avec une pile à combustible qui produit de la chaleur à partir de gaz naturel ou à partir d’hydrogène vert issu d’énergies renouvelables (vent, énergie solaire).

 

A Belfort, il existe un projet de ce type. Plus globalement, l’hydrogène peut jouer une carte en matière de stockage d’énergie. En tant que générateur de secours, ou pour apporter de l’électricité dans des zones non raccordées au réseau, ce vecteur est amené à se développer dans des secteurs clé comme l’informatique par exemple.

Atelier en anglais

Atelier

#03

Les technologies pour l'utilisation de l'hydrogène

L’Hydrogène doit être transformé pour son utilisation : en électricité, chaleur, énergie mécanique. L’élément clé est la pile à combustible, qui permet de produire électricité, chaleur, et vapeur d’eau à partir d’hydrogène.

D’autres technologies connaissent actuellement des développements prometteurs, dont les moteurs à combustion Hydrogène.

Les piles à combustible sont intégrées au sein d’un « système » : le rôle des auxiliaires est fondamental, comme la boucle d’air, le refroidissement, la boucle hydrogène, l’électronique de puissance, …

 

Une course est engagée pour répondre aux besoins notamment dans le domaine de la mobilité lourde, où des piles de forte puissance sont requises pour propulser des camions, des trains et des bateaux, en attendant de pouvoir embarquer à bord d’avions.

Atelier en anglais

Atelier

#04

L’hydrogène industriel

De l’hydrogène, oui… mais vert ! Majoritairement gris, et parfois bleu, c’est sous une forme décarbonée que l’hydrogène va pouvoir se développer.

 

Pour cela, il est nécessaire de le produire à partir d’une électricité verte et avec l’aide d’un électrolyseur. Ce type d’appareil gagne en performance avec des projets à l’échelle de plusieurs dizaines de MW. Le marché est appelé à progresser fortement, avec de nombreux projets visant à décarboner des ports.

 

L’Europe veut pour sa part imposer l’hydrogène vert dans des secteurs gourmands en énergie comme la chimie et la production de ciment. Le projet 2 x 40 GW, en collaboration avec l’Ukraine et le Maghreb, pourrait être aussi un puissant levier.

Atelier en anglais

Atelier

#05

Les applications fluviales

Entrant dans la catégorie mobilité lourde, le bateau va lui aussi intégrer de plus en plus l’hydrogène. Si des projets existent pour réduire l’empreinte carbone de paquebots, ou pour assurer une navigation en mode zéro émission dans les fjords de Norvège, ou en mode sous-marin, le secteur fluvial devrait être l’un des premiers champs d’application.

 

En alternative au Diesel, la pile à combustible pourrait équiper des navettes de transport ou des barges pour le transport de marchandises. Il existe déjà des bateaux de ce type en France. Une autre application concerne l’alimentation à quai, où la pile peut fournir du courant électrique.

 

Les projets se multiplient en Europe, sur les fleuves comme en bord de mer.

Atelier en anglais

Atelier

#06

Les technologies de production et de stockage

L’hydrogène décarboné peut-être produit par électrolyse de l’eau avec de l’électricité, mais également par de nombreux autres procédés comme la pyrogazéification, la thermolyse. Ce dernier procédé peut utiliser des matières premières lignocellulosiques, comme des plaquettes de bois, un produit naturel et renouvelable. Les conditions spécifiques à chaque projet définissent la solution la plus pertinente.

 

Une fois produit, l’hydrogène doit être stocké. C’est là qu’interviennent des industriels qui élaborent des réservoirs. L’un des champions est le français Faurecia, équipementier automobile, qui commence à assembler par exemple des produits pour les camions de Hyundai en Suisse. Le stockage peut aussi se faire dans des cavités souterraines, dans les réseaux de gaz.

Atelier en anglais

Atelier

#07

Les métiers de demain

Il faut préparer dès maintenant les futurs métiers liés à l’hydrogène.

 

C’est le cas à Belfort, où un master spécialisé est proposé pour les ingénieurs. Mais, il est nécessaire également de préparer l’adaptation des techniciens dans le domaine du transport (bus, camions et demain automobile), qui seront amenés à faire de la maintenance (véhicules, stations).

 

Cet atelier fera le point sur les besoins à satisfaire et les profils de nouveaux métiers.

Atelier en anglais

Atelier

#08

L'aéronautique

A l’heure où des premières stations sont aménagées dans des aéroports en France (et bientôt aux Pays-Bas), dans un premier temps pour alimenter des bus et des véhicules terrestres, le secteur de l’aéronautique prévoit sa conversion à l’hydrogène.

D’abord pressenti pour la production d’électricité à bord des avions, l’hydrogène est aussi, depuis la crise du Covid et le plan de relance aéronautique, au cœur des réflexions pour les applications propulsives.

Cette révolution concerne aussi bien les petits appareils de tourisme que les avions de ligne. Airbus prépare par exemple un appareil à hydrogène à l’horizon 2035.

Outre les questions de production d’hydrogène et de capacité des piles à combustible, les tests et la réglementation sont également au cœur des enjeux.

Atelier en anglais